Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

July 27, 2022

The Public Hearings for the Judicial Merit Selection Commission have been scheduled to begin Monday, November 14, 2022, with the hearings commencing at 9:00 a.m. regarding the qualifications of the following candidates for judicial positions:

Supreme Court

Seat 4 The Honorable Ralph K. Anderson III, Columbia, SC

The Honorable David Garrison "Gary" Hill,

Greenville, SC

The Honorable Aphrodite Konduros, Simpsonville, SC

The Honorable Stephanie Pendarvis McDonald,

Charleston, SC

The Honorable Maite D. Murphy, North Charleston, SC

Court of Appeals

Seat 1 The Honorable Blake A. Hewitt, Conway, SC

Seat 2 Whitney B. Harrison, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Jan B. Bromell Holmes, Georgetown, SC The Honorable Grace Gilchrist Knie, Campobello, SC

The Honorable Letitia H. Verdin, Greenville, SC

Circuit Court

15th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Amanda A. Bailey, Myrtle Beach, SC

B. Alex Hyman, Conway, SC **Steven H. John**, Little River, SC

At-Large, Seat 3 Patrick C. Fant III, Greenville, SC

The Honorable Emmanuel Joseph Ferguson Sr.,

Charleston, SC

Doward Keith Karvel Harvin, Florence, SC

Robert Marshall Paul Masella, Columbia, SC Charles J. McCutchen, Orangeburg, SC Ashley A. McMahan, Columbia, SC Jane H. Merrill, Greenwood, SC William K. Witherspoon, Columbia, SC

S. Boyd Young, Columbia, SC

Family Court

1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 Deanne M. Gray, Summerville, SC

Mandy W. Kimmons, Ridgeville, SC Margie A. Pizarro, Summerville, SC

9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4 Elisabeth Hoover, Ridgeville, SC

9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6 Julianne M. Stokes, Daniel Island, SC

10th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Joshua B. Raffini, Anderson, SC

Brittany Dreher Senerius, Anderson, SC

12th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Philip B. Atkinson, Marion, SC

Joshua A. Bailey, Marion, SC

William Vickery Meetze, Marion, SC Alicia A. Richardson, Britton's Neck, SC

At-Large, Seat 7 The Honorable Thomas T. Hodges, Greenville, SC

At-Large, Seat 8 The Honorable Rosalyn Frierson-Smith, Columbia, SC

Administrative Law Court

Seat 5 Anthony R. Goldman, Columbia, SC

Stephanie N. Lawrence, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Crystal Rookard, Columbia, SC

Master-in-Equity

Pickens County John D. Harjehausen, Easley, SC

Adam B. Lambert, Easley, SC Kimberly S. Newton, Seneca, SC

Retired

Circuit Court The Honorable Edgar Warren Dickson, Orangeburg, SC

The Honorable Tommy Hughston, Charleston, SC

Family Court The Honorable Arthur Eugene "Gene" Morehead III,

Florence, SC

The Honorable Dana A. Morris, Camden, SC

Persons desiring to testify at public hearings shall furnish written notarized statements of proposed testimony, in accordance with the Procedural Rules of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission. These statements must be received by **Noon**, **Monday**, **October 31**, **2022**. The Commission has witness affidavit forms that may be used for proposed testimony. While this form is not mandatory, it will be supplied on request. Statements should be mailed or delivered to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel 104 Gressette Building Post Office Box 142 Columbia, SC 29202

All testimony, including documents furnished to the Commission, must be submitted under oath. Persons knowingly giving false information, either orally or in writing, shall be subject to penalty.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, the website is available here:

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php.

Questions concerning the hearing and procedures should be directed to the Commission at (803) 212-6623.